Human Resources

The Directors of the Southeastern Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies established the Agency Human Resources (HR) Committee at their meeting in Little Rock, Arkansas, on October 9, 2012.  The HR Committee is responsible for advising the SEAFWA Directors and making recommendations on a broad range of matters regarding effective human resource management at SEAFWA member agencies.  Areas of responsibility shall include but not be limited to, employee recruitment and retention (including minority recruitment); training and development (i.e. degree programs, professional certifications, in-service training, etc.); leadership development, workforce and leadership succession planning; and initiatives for enhancing employee engagement.

The mission of the HR Committee shall be to identify best practices and recommend initiatives or programs that may be implemented by member agencies to enhance the recruitment, professional development and retention of highly skilled employees in positions at all levels.

The Board of Directors also have established the Minorities in Natural Resources Conservation Subcommittee whose mission goals and objectives shall be executed under the umbrella of the HR Committee.    The mission of the MINRC subcommittee is to assist SEAFWA member agencies and federal natural resource conservation agencies in the Southeastern U.S. in efforts to enhance the overall representation of minorities and women in professional occupations within the field of natural resource conservation. In addition, each year the Committee presents an award to the agency which has most improved its work force diversity programs.  MINRC has established policies and procedures under which it operates to accomplish its mission.

Minorities in Natural Resources Conservation
Subcommittee of Human Resources

Chair – David Buggs
Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

4200 Smith School Road
Austin, Texas 78744

512-389-8595 office
512-815-5773 cell

Amy Silvano - AL
Betty Bryant - AR
Paul Clemons - FL
Mark Whitney - GA
Billye Haslett - KY
Pamela Harrell - LA
Tom Neubauer - MO
Michael Bolder - MS
Vicky Scaggs - OK
Vacant - SC
Kenya Walls - NC
Randi Tarpy - TN
Rebecca Lane - VA
Chris O'Bara - WV