C. W. Watson Award Winners

The C.W. Watson Award is the most prestigious award given in the Southeast and is presented to the career individual who, in the opinion of the Award Committee, has made the greatest contribution to wildlife or fish conservation during the previous year or years. Consideration includes research, administration, law enforcement, I&E, wildlife management, fish management, and includes teachers, professionals, and students. This award is presented jointly by the Southern Division of the American Fisheries Society, the Southeastern Section of the Wildlife Society, and the Southeastern Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies.

For more information about the award please visit the C.W. Watson Award Committee page.


2017 Cindy Dohner

2016 John Fischer, Ga.

2015  Herman Todd Holbrook, Ga. 

2014 Fred A. Harris, NC

2013 Richard M. Kaminski, Miss.

2012 David Whitehurst, Va.

2011 James L. Byford, Tenn.

2010 Sam Hamilton, USFWS

2009 J. Whitfield Gibbons, Ga.

2008 Charles Baxter, Miss.

2007 Louie P. (Pete) Heard, NRCS Miss.

2006 Robert M. Brantly, Fla.

2005 Kenneth M. Babcock, Mo.

2004 David Waller, Ga.

2003 James E. “Jim” Miller, Miss.

2002 Gary T. Myers, Tenn.

2001 John E. Frampton, S.C.

2000 Steve Wilson, Ark.

1999 Joe L. Herring, La.

1998 Wilmer A. Rogers, Ala.

1997 James Earl Kennamer, S.C.

1996 James A. Timmerman, S.C.

1995 A. Sydney Johnson, Ga.

1994 Daniel W. Speake, Ala.

1993 Robert Jenkins, Ark.

1992 Lowell K. Halls, Tex.

1991 Charles D. Kelley, Ark.

1990 Carl R. Sullivan, Washington, D.C.


1989 Gary C. Matlock, Tex.

1988 Herman L. Holbrook, S.C.

1987 Larry R. Gales, Mo.

1986 James “Ted” Joanen, La.

1985 Dale H. Arner, Miss.

1984 Robert J. Kemp, Tex.

1983 Harold E. Alexander, Ark.

1982 Chester McConnell, Washington, D.C.

1981 Don W. Hayne, N.C.

1980 Frank Hayes, Ga.

1979 Leonard Foote, Ga.

1978 Jack Crockford, Ga.

1977 Earl Frye, Jr., Fla.

1976 Earroll J. Perkins, Miss.

1975 William Turcotte, Miss.

1974 Verlon Carter, Ga.

1973 Harold Warvel, Tenn.

1972 Trusten Holder, Ark.

1971 Chester Phelps, Va.

1970 Forst Kellog, Ga.

1969 Fred Fish, N.C.

1968 John Crumb, Va.

1967 Ten Kistner, Ga.

1966 Price Williams, Tenn.

1965 Bob Stevens, S.C.

1964 Clarence W. Watson