Welcome to the Southeastern Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies!!
The Southeastern Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies (SEAFWA) is an organization whose members are the state agencies with primary responsibility for management and protection of the fish and wildlife resources in 15 states, Puerto Rico and the United States Virgin Islands. Member states are Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia. The Directors of the Association meet semi-annually, in the spring and fall.

Save the Date!
The North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission invites you to the 69th Annual Conference of the Southeastern Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies at the Renaissance Hotel in Asheville, North Carolina, November 1-4, 2015. For more information, click here.

Thank you to all who participated in the 2014 conference in Destin, Florida. Check out some of the pictures taken during the conference!


SEAFWA Hires Curtis Hopkins, Ph.D. as Executive Secretary
Curtis Hopkins retired from Ducks Unlimited in 2013 after spending 33 years with the organization. He retired as Director of the Southern Region; a position he held for six years. In his career at Ducks Unlimited, Curtis also held positions as Director of Conservation Programs, Director of Private Lands Conservation, Senior Regional Director and Regional Director of the North MS Region. Curtis brings to SEAFWA more than 41 years of field and administrative experience. Throughout his career, Curtis has demonstrated leadership capability with professional and volunteer leaders. He has also demonstrated planning, communication, administrative, wildlife management, fund raising, and research capabilities. Curtis is a graduate of Texas A & M University (Ph.D.) and Mississippi State Univeristy (MS and BS).

SEAFWA Hires Angelyn Mewborn as Financial Manager
Angelyn Mewbornís career has included more than 30 years of experience in budget, contract and grant management, conference planning, and regional program administration in the areas of state park natural resource protection, historic site conservation, fisheries management, and environmental education. Prior to her retirement from the Georgia Department of Natural Resources, Angelyn worked in all areas of the DNR encompassing park management, law enforcement, fisheries, and engineering and construction. She served as Administrative Operations Manager for the southeast region of Georgia State Park and Historic Site Operations, Budget Analyst and Program Manager for the Business Services Section of the State Parks Division, Budget & Contracts Manager for the Engineering and Construction Section, as well as the Assistant Fiscal Officer for the Georgia Department of Natural Resources. In addition to her administrative responsibilities, Angelyn assisted in field activities and programming efforts for public education of state park and historic site resources, conducted conference programs for state park managers and interpretive specialists, and participated in capital campaigns for fund raising opportunities. Since her retirement from the Georgia DNR, Angelyn has been overseeing SARPís administrative operations.

New Commissioner in Kentucky
The Kentucky Fish & Wildlife Commission appointed Gregory Johnson to serve as the Departmentís new Commissioner. On May 16th, he became the eighth head of the agency in its 70-year history. Johnson retired in 2011 after over 30 years with the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service. He received a bachelorís degree in wildlife management with minors in fisheries and chemistry in 1979. Johnson grew up farming in Wasco, Illinois and worked as a fishing guide, Forest Service biologist, and in a variety of capacities with the SCS/NRCS before finishing his career as director of the Financial Assistance Program Division. He is a lifelong hunter, angler and outdoorsman.

New Director in Arkansas
The Arkansas Game and Fish Commission has selected Mike Knoedl as its new director. Knoedl, currently a deputy director within Game and Fish, was a wildlife officer for 23 years before becoming a field supervisor in 1998. He succeeds Loren Hitchcock, who announced in April that he would retire but extended his directorship until a replacement was found.

Hunting, Fishing and Wildife Recreation Participation Committee Report
Click here to download the SEAFWA HFWP Committee Report on recruitment and retention of hunters, fishermen and other fish and wildlife users in the Southeast. The report identifies top recruitment and retention programs among the Southeastern states and addresses the charge and goals of the Committee.

Click here for more news...


© Southeast Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies
Website Design & Management by: Delaney Meeting and Event Management