Recent Entries
Entries 1-5 of 35
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 | Next
Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Nominations are being accepted for the 2018 C. W. Watson Award. The Award is given to the nominee who has contributed the most to any of the appropriate areas of fish and wildlife conservation in the southeast (please see for award format). The Award can be given for a single accomplishment or a series of nonrelated items. According to Committee Chair, Bob Duncan, “The level of competition is so keen for this Award that the category of Career Achievement comes to my mind although the Award is not based on tenure or length of service”. This year’s C. W. Watson Award Committee is chaired by Director Bob Duncan representing SEAFWA Directors. Committee Members include Kevin J. Dockendorf representing the Southern Division of The American Fisheries Society and Emily Jo Williams representing the Southeastern Section of The Wildlife Society.

Posted by seafwaadmin at 5/22/2018 6:07:00 PM
Thursday, December 21, 2017

One hundred years ago, wildlife biologists began determining which plant species provided food and cover for ducks and geese and then how to manage coastal wetlands to promote those plants. Within decades, that knowledge was the basis for managing water levels, water salinity, fire, and land acquisition on the Atlantic, Gulf, and Pacific coasts. By the end of the last century, that knowledge also was being used to improve habitat for wading birds, shore birds and other associated species habitat and also in efforts to combat coastal wetland loss.

Posted by seafwaadmin at 12/21/2017 3:34:00 PM
Friday, December 1, 2017

In 1905, a Florida game warden named Guy Bradley became the first wildlife law enforcement agent killed while performing his duties to protect the nation’s wildlife. Law enforcement agents like Bradley are essential to virtually every aspect of wildlife conservation, from recovering endangered species to managing waterfowl and big game resources.  In honor of Guy Bradley, the National Fish and Wildlife Foundation established this lifetime achievement award to recognize individuals for their commitment and performance in the field of wildlife law enforcement.

The Guy Bradley Award will be presented to one state agency and one federal agency officer whose dedication and public service to protecting the nation's natural resources demonstrates outstanding leadership, excellence in implementation, knowledge, and actions that have advanced the cause of wildlife conservation.


Posted by seafwaadmin at 12/1/2017 4:49:00 PM
Monday, November 6, 2017

Jay McAninch given 2017 SEAFWA Directors’ Special Recognition Award

LOUISVILLE, Kent. – Oct. 31, 2017 – The Southeastern Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies (SEAFWA) presented CEO and President of the Archery Trade Association Jay McAninch with a special recognition award at their annual meeting in Louisville this week. McAninch has led the ATA since 2000, and a hallmark of his tenure has been the rejuvenation of the relationship between industry and the state agencies.

Posted by seafwaadmin at 11/6/2017 3:50:00 PM

Dan Gibbs named 2017 SEAFWA Wildlife Biologist of the Year

LOUISVILLE, Kent. – Oct. 31, 2017 – The Southeastern Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies (SEAFWA) named Dan Gibbs the 2017 Wildlife Biologist of the Year at their annual meeting in Louisville this week. Gibbs is the Bear Program Leader for the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency (TWRA).

Posted by seafwaadmin at 11/6/2017 3:48:00 PM
Entries 1-5 of 35
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 | Next

Looking for something?